Circularity

Today, in honour of a wonderful group of women who meet in my home and share their spiritual journeys together, I would like to share the closing words from an old sermon of mine.

Meditation on Circularity

by Monette Louise Bebow-Reinhard[1]

Imagine

with your eyes closed

that you are part

of the circle of life.

The heavens, the ground below,

and all that makes up

what you see and hear.

The ceremony to reach

into the other realm

has begun.

You are one within it.

Let the visions come.

If your mind is free and unhampered,

you will see many things.

The world will show you a mystery.

And if your eyes are clear

in this darkness

you will understand it.

You will feel the rhythm,

become one with the beat.

You will feel yourself rising

up and up into the sky.

But you will still be

within yourself.

For within this circle

you will see

the one pebble on the ground

that keeps you connected.

And you will know

you exist.


In closing I’d like to share some words from Writing for Your Life by Deena Metzger:

“Stories move in circles. They don’t go in straight lines. So, it helps if you listen in circles. There are stories inside stories and stories between stories, and finding your way through them is as easy and as hard as finding your way home. And part of the finding is the getting lost. And when you’re lost, you start to look around, to listen.”

and here I will add…get lost listening to your stories because it is then that you will find your own meaning. And you will be home!          Nya:weh!


[1] Retrieved from the internet on Wednesday, September 14, 2005 at http://www.authorsden.com/visit/viewpoetry.asp?AuthorID=12460&id=89335

7 thoughts on “Circularity

    • Yes they are my own pages, mostly manipulative collage, but i am taking the class with Lani on photoshopping collage and am finally catching on. Today I made a desktop for a friend who was having a sad day. Thanks for the compliment. I am quite taken with soulcollage, but have never formally studied it.

  1. I really like this post!!! I especially like your art work and the quote below. I have felt this “circle” when doing the TAG (traveling artist guild) and it has been hard for me to make this into something for others…but for me personally it resonated. When I thought about making it a story for others though I dried up. So I think I will again work on my story. For some reason that is why your picture made so much sense to me as well. I wonder if you or others understand this feeling of a lack of words or maybe a jumping around within the circle of the story.

    • Oh yes, Becky, I do relate to the feeling that i lack the words to adequately tell the story. However, i just sit down and show up and write. Eventually, in a circular kind of way, the story begins to emerge through me. That is most of the time, sometimes i just go around in circles. Eventually, though, i think the story or stories that need telling will find their way to the surface.
      Thanks for visiting, susanna

  2. I really like
    ” i think the story or stories that need telling will find their way to the surface.”
    Sometimes I think the spot light is on me…and tooo often I feel like I am in school and that I am writing a story for a grade. I know the grade is going to be a C at best and probably a D. But when I think of creating I see myself as getting an A or a B as least. Now how do you get out of the school think. I know that in order to see myself as an artist I decided that it was more important to define myself that way rather than waiting for others. But to be honest I don’t see writing as my strong point and wonder…and I just wasting my time doing something that I am not going to ever be a B at? I really enjoyed creating my character, creating the props, creating the story line…but then it wasn’t like anyone else’s and so I second guessed my story.
    Isn’t that really what gets us…comparing our story to what we think “The Story” ought to look like.
    I was really surprised that Proust had very long sentenses that would be what my teacher would call a run on sentense…if you could start one place, flash back and reflect all in the same sentence? No how did his work get an A and how did he just say I don’t care this is what I want to say.
    I think it is the artistic misfits that have always encouraged me. Do you know of other writer misfits?

Leave a Reply

