Choosing…

“What do you wish to choose?”, asks Jamie Ridler over at Jamie Ridler Studios and I ponder about that…

pretending i’m laying in this meadow…

(I am trying to be mindful of those on dial-up so i’ve posted thumbnails…please click on them to embiggen. Thanks!)

The word choose necessitates choice. Often we make the mistake of thinking we don’t have a choice, but not choosing is a choice, staying put is a choice, giving up is a choice. And I’ve decided that I will face that square in the eye and choose—consciously choose. So…

What choices are spread before me like a wildflower of immense beauty?

What lays before me in my one wild, and precious life?

Oh, yes, one I have supposedly already made … a hard choice in many ways, but also a path of least resistance and all for the best in the long term. But I waffle and I dither…oh could I? should I? what if…. But no, choice is made, done and done. Move forward. Let go. But how my heart asks. How do I do that. You make a choice to be at peace with your decision, that’s how.

So now what choices lie before me, today as I cast this wish?

This is a hard one…oh, wait, not so hard…I am going to choose to be at peace with the choices I have made and am making in the present as well as those choices that I will face in future times. After all is said and done, we choose based on the information we have at hand, with the skills we have right then and there. So here’s my choice for today:

I wish to choose to be at peace with the decisions and choices I make now and forever. No flip flopping and what iffing. No regrets and should haves. No, none of that. Just and only conscious, informed choosing…

And then letting the seeds fall where the wind takes them.All photography credits to Jeff Suchak

28 thoughts on “Choosing…

  1. As a parent, I gave my son this advice. “make your decision, move forward and don’t look back”. It’s ok to learn from your decision, but once the dye is cast… Now mind you, I don’t take my own advice, but looking back really didn’t help Lot’s wife any either LOL. Trust yourself… As you wish for yourself, I wish also for you.

    • Just last night on the Naked Archeologist they were searching for Sodom and Gomorrah and today you mentioned Lot’s wife! Coincidence, i think not. Especially since i just chose NOT to go back to seminary. But you have made a very succinct and worthy of attention point. Thanks.

  2. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

    Oh man, I know what this is like, making peace with choices that have been made can be so tough. I wish with all my heart that you find this peace and confidence in making decisions in the future too.

    • It is indeed tough to be at peace with choices we’ve made by default or with intent. Often too, we are faced with just being stuck with what life deals out too. I am buoyed by your choice not to just sit back and throw up your hands in some helpless gesture. You deserve to choose better! I know that having you in my “tribe” surely makes my life richer.

  3. This is such wise advice. It is so easy to look back and say what we should have done or chosen. But we cannot predict the future and we waste so much time worrying about the past. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.

    • Thanks, Ginny. I think it is helpful to put it “out there” so that you can hear your own wise voice when next tempted to “regret” or second guess our choices. I appreciate your sharing.

  4. oh…how long did it take me to view all of my choices – no matter the outcomes – with acceptance and without judgement??? This was a terrific wish, Susanna, one that we all would do well to practice 🙂

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well!

  5. Wonderful post.

    Something a wise teacher once said has always stuck with me, “Sad is the man or woman who comes to a point in their life when health and age no longer lets them choose – and their remaining days are filled with regret. “I could have…should have…but I blew it, they cry.”

    So, no regrets. Trust yourself and your choices. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you.

  6. “Often we make the mistake of thinking we don’t have a choice, but not choosing is a choice, staying put is a choice, giving up is a choice.”

    Thank you for this reminder. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you.

  7. I think that is probably the trick to making choices…make them with mindfulness…that way you don’t have to second guess…you just say…yep, that’s the choice I made. Then deal with it. No judgement…just forward movement. As you wish for yourself so I wish for you as well.

  8. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

    Great post! and I love “the summer day” – life is too precious to waste time on regrets – move forward and enjoy it to the full : )

  9. Pingback: Enjoy… «

Leave a Reply

